City of Farrell, Mercer County, Pennsylvania

  • City of Farrell Fire Department
    Serving: The City of Farrell

In a town that is 106-years old, it is not surprising that the formation of a fire department was high on the list of priorities for the city’s founding fathers. In the fall of 1902, a group of citizens organized the city’s first Volunteer Fire Department.align  One year later, the city established it’s first paid Fire Department and a formal charter was approved in July of 1905.

The current Fire Department is operated under Chief Bill Mortimer, who also serves as the City of Farrell ’s Emergency Management Coordinator.  Chief Mortimer oversees a department that includes an assistant chief, 15 part-time fire fighters, and 30 volunteers.  The department utilizes the services of two full-time public works employees who are also trained fire fighters.

For a city of its size, Farrell has some of the best - and most modern - equipment to battle fires of all sizes, both in the city and in surrounding communities.  The department provides full fire and rescue services, as well as maintaining the city’s Emergency Operations Plan.  In addition to their fire fighting duties, the department provides these valuable services to the community:

  • Provides fire safety education programs

  • Enforces the Fire Safety Code

  • Engages in Haz-Mat activities/services

  • Conducts fire incident investigation

  • Involved in on-going training

The Farrell Fire Department recently added a 2008 HME Ahrens Fox 500 gallon rescue pumper. Fire Chief Joe Santell and Assistant Bill Mortimer inspect the new truck.
  • Southwest Mercer County Regional Police
    Serving: City of Farrell, Wheatland Borough, West Middlesex Borough & Shenango Township

The Southwest Mercer County Regional Police Department (SWMCR PD) was formed in 1992 through a merger of the City of Farrell and the Borough of Wheatland. Since its inception, the Borough of West Middlesex has joined to make it a three-community Regional police department.

The SWMCR PD has 23 police officers - 16 full time officers and 7 part time officers, in addition to clerical and staff. A Police Commission made up of two delegates from each represented community governs the SWMCR PD. Administrative offices are open Monday through Friday, 8:00am – 4:00pm. The SWMCR PD is dispatched to all emergency and non-emergency calls through Mercer County 911.

  • Chairman of Police Commission – Tom Tulip (Council of Governments)

  • Chief of Police – Riley Smoot Jr.

  • Captain Detective – William Hite

  • Clerical Secretary – Heather Darcangelo

Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00am – 4:00pm
Administration Number - 724-983-2720
Fax number – 724-981-2988

Emergency Numbers - 911

2014 year end report - Southwest Mercer County Regional Police

City of Farrell, Pennsylvania
500 Roemer Boulevard, Farrell, PA 16121
phone: (724) 983-2703 fax: (724) 983-2719